Mobirise Site Builder

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What is DSH (German Language Examination for Higher Education)?


The German Language Examination for Higher Education (DSH) is a linguistic admission examination which serves to prove the German language skills of foreign study applicants required for a university study in Germany. The examination is also to be taken by study applicants with a German passport, which do not have a German-speaking educational qualification.

 

The prerequisite for participation in the DSH is admission to a particular course or the language course at the universities, but there are also an increasing number of "open" DSHs, which are also open to highly scholarship applicants who are not (yet) licensed.

The DSH is offered at many universities on a fee basis, with the price ranging from € 40 to € 150. At some locations, the exam is allowed to be repeated at most two times, between a failed exam and a repetition, must be at least three months. Participation in a preparatory course is recommended. At other locations the test can be repeated without any restriction.

Structure of the DSH

 

The DSH consists of a written and an oral examination. The written partial examinations take place before the oral examination. Both written and oral examinations have to be passed to pass the overall examination, but the overall result is not averaged. In order to achieve the normally required level DSH 2, for example, both test parts must be passed with at least the DSH 2 result, test participants who have achieved DSH 3 in the written partial test but complete the oral partial examination only with DSH 1 shall fail, because the overall result comprises only the DSH 1 level.
The threshold for each partial test is 57%, the level DSH 2 is between 67% and 81%, from 82% DSH 3.

A German-German dictionary can usually be used in the written part of the examination. It takes three to four hours to complete the following tasks:
1. Understanding and processing a listening text
2. Understanding and editing a reading text
3. Target-oriented text production
4. Understanding and editing of scientific-language structures

The four task areas can also be combined. However, all four task areas must be checked.

Listening

In the "Understanding and processing of a listening text", the applicants are to show that they can follow and understand daily conservations and lectures from the scientific field and can make meaningful notes on them.

The listening text is 50 to 100 lines long. Before each section, the context is given. The each text is then usually read twice. Notes can be taken by the participants. Prior to the last listening, tasks will be assigned:
1. Answering questions
2. Summarizing or describing the text

Language Levels

The results of the DSH are given in three levels (DSH 1 to DSH 3), which correspond approximately to the stages B2 to C2 of the GER (Common European Framework) and in approval procedures analogous to the levels TDN-3 to TDN-5 of the TestDaF Test German as a foreign language).

At level DSH 1, enrollment can be linked to the attendance of further language courses and a re-examination. It is sufficient to enroll in bilingual (e.g. English-German) courses without additional requirements. For the majority of courses at German-speaking universities, the level DSH-2 is required for enrollment, only DSH-3 is necessary for some courses which require significant linguistic skills.

According to the DSH framework, each university organizes their examinations independently, but within a standardized framework. That is, tasks at each university can also differ. Nevertheless, the DSH of every German university, which has been accredited by the Hochschulrektorenkonferenz on the basis of the new framework, must be recognized by other universities.

 

 

 


  IBZ Dortmund GmbH (Interkulturelles Bildungszentrum)
Freistuhl 3 44137 Dortmund
info@ibz-dortmund.com - www.ibz-dortmund.com
Tel.: +49 231 28867778 - Fax: +49 231 28867779

Mobirise Site Builder

 

 

 

 

 

 


Was ist die DSH (Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang)?

 

Die Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang (DSH) ist eine sprachliche Zulassungsprüfung, die dazu dient, die für ein Hochschulstudium in Deutschland erforderlichen deutschen Sprachkenntnisse ausländischer Studienbewerber nachzuweisen. Sie ist auch von Studienbewerbern mit deutschem Pass abzulegen, die keinen deutschsprachigen Bildungsabschluss vorzuweisen haben.

Die Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme an der DSH ist an vielen Hochschulen die Zulassung zu einem Fachstudium oder zum Sprachkurs, daneben existieren aber zunehmend „offene“ DSH, die auch für hochschulexterne Studienbewerber geöffnet sind, die (noch) keine Zulassung vorweisen können.

Die DSH wird an vielen Hochschulen kostenpflichtig angeboten, wobei sich der Preis zwischen 40,- und 150,- € bewegt. An einigen Standorten darf die Prüfung maximal zweimal wiederholt werden, zwischen einer nicht bestandenen Prüfung und einer Wiederholung müssen mindestens drei Monate liegen. Die Teilnahme an einem Vorbereitungskurs wird empfohlen. An anderen Standorten kann die Prüfung ohne Restriktion wiederholt werden.
 

Aufbau der DSH
 
Die DSH besteht aus einer schriftlichen und einer mündlichen Teilprüfung. Die schriftlichen Teilprüfungen finden vor der mündlichen statt. Zum Bestehen der Gesamtprüfung müssen beide Teilprüfungen bestanden werden, das Gesamtergebnis wird jedoch nicht gemittelt. Zum Erreichen der in der Regel angestrebten Niveaustufe DSH 2 müssen z. B. beide Prüfungsteile mit mindestens dem Ergebnis DSH 2 bestanden werden, Prüfungsteilnehmer, die in der schriftlichen Teilprüfung zwar DSH 3 erreicht haben, die mündliche Teilprüfung jedoch nur mit DSH 1 abschließen, erreichen auch im Gesamtergebnis nur die Niveaustufe DSH 1.

Die Bestehensgrenze für jede Teilprüfung liegt bei 57 %, zwischen 67 % und 81 % wird die Niveaustufe DSH 2 angesetzt, ab 82 % DSH 3.

Zur Bearbeitung der schriftlichen Teilprüfung darf in der Regel ein einsprachiges Wörterbuch benutzt werden. Sie dauert drei bis vier Zeitstunden und umfasst folgende Aufgabenbereiche:
  1. Verstehen und Verarbeiten eines Hörtextes
  2. Verstehen und Bearbeiten eines Lesetextes
  3. Vorgabenorientierte Textproduktion
  4. Verstehen und Bearbeiten wissenschaftssprachlicher Strukturen
Die vier Aufgabenbereiche können auch kombiniert werden. Es müssen aber alle vier Aufgabenbereiche geprüft werden.
 

Hörtext
 
Im Aufgabenbereich „Verstehen und Verarbeiten eines Hörtextes“ sollen die Bewerber zeigen, dass sie Vorlesungen und Vorträgen aus dem wissenschaftlichen Bereich mit Verständnis folgen können sowie sinnvoll Notizen dazu anfertigen können.
 
Der Hörtext ist 50 bis 100 Zeilen lang. Vor der Präsentation wird über den thematischen Zusammenhang informiert. Der Text wird dann meistens zweimal vorgelesen. Dabei dürfen Notizen gemacht werden. Vor dem letzten Vortrag werden Aufgaben gestellt:
  1. Beantwortung von Fragen
  2. Wiedergabe oder Zusammenfassung des Textes
Bei der Bewertung werden inhaltliche Aspekte stärker berücksichtigt als die sprachliche Korrektheit.
 

Niveaustufen
 
Das Ergebnis der DSH wird in drei Niveaustufen angegeben (DSH 1 bis DSH 3), die in etwa den Stufen B2 bis C2 des GER (Gemeinsamer Europäischer Referenzrahmen) entsprechen und in Zulassungsverfahren analog zu den Niveaustufen TDN-3 bis TDN-5 des TestDaF (Test Deutsch als Fremdsprache) gewertet werden.

Beim Niveau DSH 1 kann die Immatrikulation an den Besuch weiterer Sprachkurse und eine erneute Prüfung gekoppelt sein, sie reicht ohne weitere Auflagen üblicherweise nur zur Immatrikulation in bilinguale (z. B. englisch-deutsche) Studiengänge. Für die Mehrzahl der Studiengänge an deutschsprachigen Hochschulen ist zur Immatrikulation die Niveaustufe DSH 2 erforderlich, lediglich für einige Studiengänge mit erhöhten sprachlichen Anforderungen ist DSH 3 notwendig.

Laut der Rahmenordnung für die DSH gestalten die einzelnen Universitäten die Prüfungen selbstständig, aber innerhalb eines standardisierten Rahmens, daher können sich auch die Aufgabenstellungen an einzelnen Hochschulen unterscheiden. Dennoch muss die DSH einer jeden deutschen Hochschule, die von der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz auf Basis der neuen Rahmenordnung akkreditiert wurde, von anderen Hochschulen anerkannt werden.

 

 

 


  IBZ Dortmund GmbH (Interkulturelles Bildungszentrum)
Freistuhl 3 44137 Dortmund
info@ibz-dortmund.com - www.ibz-dortmund.com
Tel.: +49 231 28867778 - Fax: +49 231 28867779